Emergency Relief Program (ERP)

Disaster Recovery Assistance for Commodity and Specialty Crop Producers

Extended Government Funding and Delivering Emergency Assistance Act (P.L. 117-43), of $10 billion in assistance to be released to agricultural producers impacted in our areas by droughts, winter storms, and other eligible disasters experienced during calendar years 2020 and 2021.  The Farm Service Agency (FSA) has also made payments to ranchers impacted by drought and wildfire through the first phase of the Emergency Livestock Relief Program (ELRP).

Emergency Relief Program (ERP) Disaster Recovery Assistance for commodity and specialty crop producers is another relief component of the Act.  Minnesota, Iowa, and South Dakota have eligible counties in 2020 and 2021.

What you do you need to do:

FSA will send pre-filled application forms to producers whose crop insurance and NAP data is already on file because they received a crop insurance indemnity or NAP payment.  Simply complete, sign and return then applications to your local FSA office.   This form includes eligibility requirements, outlines the application process, and provides ERP payment information. There will be separate application forms for each program year.

You must also have the following forms on file with the FSA offices:

In addition, for certain producers, forms:

  • Form FSA-510, Request for an Exception to the $125,000 Payment Limitation for Certain Programs.
  • Form CCC-860, Socially Disadvantaged, Limited Resource, Beginning and Veteran Farmer or Rancher Certification, for the applicable program year.

If you are uncertain of these forms, contact your local FSA office for confirmation: https://offices.sc.egov.usda.gov/locator/app?state=us&agency=fsa

For full information, please review the Fact Sheet. 

RMA and FSA will calculate each producer’s loss consistent with the loss procedures for the type of coverage purchased but using the ERP factor in place of the coverage level. This calculated amount would then be adjusted by subtracting out the net crop insurance indemnity or NAP payment, which is equal to the producer’s gross crop insurance indemnity or NAP payment already received for those losses minus service fees and premiums.

Eligible Counties for Drought in 2020 and 2021

2020 Minnesota County – Rock County

2021 Minnesota Counties - Aitkin, Anoka, Becker, Beltrami, Benton, Big Stone, Blue Earth, Brown, Carlton, Cass Chippewa, Clay, Clearwater, Cook, Cottonwood, Crow Wing, Douglas, Faribault, Freeborn, Grant, Hennepin, Hubbard, Isanti, Itasca, Jackson, Kandiyohi, Kittson, Koochiching, Lac qui Parle, Lake, Lake of the Woods, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Mahnomen, Marshall, Martin, Meeker, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Mower, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Pipestone, Polk, Pope, Red Lake, Redwood, Renville, Rock, Roseau, Saint Louis, Sherburne, Sibley, Stearns, Stevens, Swift, Todd, Wadena, Watonwan, Wilkin, Wright, Yellow Medicine

For full listing of all states and counties click here: 2020 & 2021

Scroll to Top